International Polar Year, or IPY (2007-2009) is by far the most exciting international scientific and educational opportunity of this century. For the next two years, all eyes will be focused on the physical, social and human dimensions of our planet's polar regions. Watch this blog for news related to Canadian outreach and education efforts related to IPY. Of particular interest to educators! Note: This blog is created independently of any official IPY organization

Monday, December 7, 2009

FW: [IPY_teachers:320] South Pole real-time event with polar researchers - 11 December 2009

Join us for real-time live events with PolarTREC teachers and polar

researchers in Antarctica!


We'll be hosting an interactive event with teacher Casey O'Hara and a team

of researchers working on a telescope project at the South Pole!  You can

learn more about this project at:


This live event will be Friday, 11 December 2009, starting at 10am Alaska

Standard Time [11am PST, 12pm MST, 1pm CST, 2pm EST]


There are two other live events the same week:


Live from IPY: Antarctic Undersea ROV

Tuesday, 8 December 2009 - 10am Alaska Standard Time [11am PST, 12pm

MST, 1pm CST, 2pm EST] Live from IPY! with Michele Cross and the SCINI

ROV Team.


Live from IPY: Dissolved Organic Matter in the Cotton Glacier,  Antarctica

Wednesday, 9 December 2009 - 8am Alaska Standard Time [9am PST, 10am

MST, 11am CST, 12pm EST] Live from IPY! with Sarah Diers and the

Dissolved Organic Matter team.



Registration is FREE for these events.  To register for these events and to

receive instructions on how to join, go to:


These events are hosted through the PolarTREC Live from the International

Polar Year! program and allow participants to learn more about the polar

regions. Participants will have a chance to ask questions and chat with

others during the presentation.




Contact us at:


Arctic Research Consortium of the United States (ARCUS)

3535 College Road, Suite #101

Fairbanks, AK U.S.A. 99709-3710

Phone: 907-474-1600

Fax: 907-474-1604











You received this message because you are subscribed to the Google Groups "IPY Teachers" group.

To post to this group, send email to

To unsubscribe from this group, send email to

For more options, visit this group at




No comments: