International Polar Year, or IPY (2007-2009) is by far the most exciting international scientific and educational opportunity of this century. For the next two years, all eyes will be focused on the physical, social and human dimensions of our planet's polar regions. Watch this blog for news related to Canadian outreach and education efforts related to IPY. Of particular interest to educators! Note: This blog is created independently of any official IPY organization

Wednesday, June 20, 2007

Live from IPY! June 22 (US Event)

Celebrate the International Polar Year and join us for Live from IPY! event from Barrow, Alaska! Interact with PolarTREC teacher Rob Wilder and researcher Steve Oberbauer, from Barrow, Alaska. Ask questions and view photos! Anyone can register for these events and participation is free! For more information about the Arctic Tundra Dynamics project or to register for live events, visit Or contact Katie Breen or Janet Warburton or call the Arctic Research Consortium of the United States (ARCUS) at 907-474-1600 ************************* Live Event Information ************************* You may register for live events below at: Next Event: 22 June 2007 at 11:00 a.m. Alaska Daylight Time (9:00 a.m. HDT; 12:00 p.m. PDT; 1:00 p.m. MDT; 2:00 p.m. CDT; 3:00 p.m. EDT). Duration: ~ 50 minutes For these events, we will be using the webinar interface, Wimba, which allows presentation of PowerPoint slides over the Internet during a conference call, and includes other useful functions such as online chat and polling features. To take full advantage of the webinar you will need telephone and Internet access. If you do not have Internet access, however, you can simply join the conference call. The webinars will be archived online after the completion of the live sessions. Instructions on how to view an archived events will be posted on the PolarTREC website and emailed to all registered participants.

Thursday, June 7, 2007

Final Live from IPY! online conference

Join us for our final Live from IPY! event from the Northern Bering Sea on June 12, 2007. Researcher Jackie Grebmeier will be discussing the research being conducted aboard the USCGC Healy and introducing Captain Ted Lindstrom and crew. Event Date: Tuesday, June 12, 2007 Event Time: 9:00 a.m. Alaska Daylight Time (7:00 a.m. HDT; 10:00 a.m. PDT; 11:00 a.m. MDT; 12:00 p.m. CDT; 1:00 p.m. EDT) You can learn more about the research on the PolarTREC website at:

Friday, June 1, 2007

IPY Web Seminar June 5th - The Fragile Ice

As part of the National Science Teachers Association (NSTA) web seminar series on IPY , a free web seminar will be held June 5th from 6:30 to 8:00 PM Eastern Time. Entitled "The Fragile Ice" and presented by Mark McCaffrey from the University of Colorado in Boulder who is a member of the IPY Education, Outreach and Communications subcommittee, this web seminar is geared for teachers interested in learning more about the 125 year legacy of IPY and current IPY activities that they can use in classroom settings. The seminar will be interactive and archived for later viewing, and those interested in participating will need to register . As the title suggests, the seminar will focus on changes observed in polar ice dynamics and the global implications. The web seminar series are supported by NSF, NOAA and NASA and hosted by NSTA.