International Polar Year, or IPY (2007-2009) is by far the most exciting international scientific and educational opportunity of this century. For the next two years, all eyes will be focused on the physical, social and human dimensions of our planet's polar regions. Watch this blog for news related to Canadian outreach and education efforts related to IPY. Of particular interest to educators! Note: This blog is created independently of any official IPY organization

Wednesday, October 27, 2010

Caribou in the News end of October 2010

First Nations people, scientists meet to save caribou
Winnipeg Free Press
The North American Caribou Workshop has registered 400 environmentalists, aboriginal leaders, government regulators and scientists, twice as many as ...
See all stories on this topic »

Consultations taking place on George River Caribou
St. John's Telegram
Consultations are taking place in Labrador today and Wednesday on the management of the George River caribou herd. Preliminary census results, from a ...
See all stories on this topic »

Board approves hunt for Nelchina caribou
Anchorage Daily News
AP The Alaska Board of Game has decided to proceed with a community harvest of the Nelchina herd, the state's most sought after caribou. ...
See all stories on this topic »
Bathurst caribou plan to help preserve herd
The Bathurst caribou herd's population has dropped from about 128000 in 2006 to 32000 last year, according to NWT government surveys. ...
See all stories on this topic »
 Flying in Caribou Country - 2008_1.pdf 1783520 - ...
By findpdf
1783520, 2008_1.pdf by Flying in Caribou Country. How to minimize disturbance from aircraft. 2008. Thank you to all the ... aircraft, mineral exploration, government, mining industries and regulatory agencies. for ...
Last Added PDF eBook Collections -

Friday, October 15, 2010

Webinar: Benthics in Antarctica

Join us for upcoming real-time events with PolarTREC teacher, Tina
Sander, and scientists looking at the benthic, or seafloor dwelling
organisms, in Antarctica! Participants will learn more about the unique
ecology of the sea floor and how scientists are studying this unique

These events are hosted through the PolarTREC PolarConnect (formerly
Live from IPY!) program, and participants will have a chance to learn
from the scientists, ask questions, and chat with others during the

Wednesday, 20 October 2010
10:00 AM ADT (11:00 AM PDT, 12:00 PM MDT, 1:00 PM CDT, 2:00 PM EDT)

Wednesday, 17 November 2010
3:30 PM ADT (4:30 PM PDT, 5:30 PM MDT, 6:30 PM CDT, 7:30 PM EDT)

Friday, 3 December 2010
9:00 AM ADT (10:00 AM PDT, 11:00 AM MDT, 12:00 PM CDT, 1:00 PM EDT)

Registration: To register for any of these free events and to receive
instructions on how to join, go to:

For more information about the science that Ms. Sander is involved in,
please read her journals at:

Webinar: Measuring Melts & Metals : Implications for Marine Ecosystems

Announcing the next webinar in the COSEE-OS "ROLE Model" webinar series:
Measuring Melts & Metals : Implications for Marine Ecosystems

WHEN: October 20 at 7PM Eastern [3PM Alaska, 4PM Pacific, 5PM Mountain, 6PM

Register here:<> ]

Or contact,;

Featuring : Dr. Ben Twining (Bigelow Laboratory for Ocean Sciences) and
Annette deCharon (COSEE-Ocean Systems)

Think melting icebergs only affect sea level or ocean salinity? Dr. Twining
will discuss his recent research in the Arctic focusing on the role of
icebergs in the ocean's nutrient cycles and carbon uptake as they act as a
source of chemicals (such as iron) that enrich the biological communities
around them - with potential global-scale implications. Using a suite of
technologies (including remotely operated vehicles and planes) Dr. Twining
has been collecting data to reveal what's going on in the ocean - even under
the surface of the ice. The second portion of the presentation will feature
COSEE-OS director Annette deCharon describing different concept mapping
activities that encourage team building, reflection on personal and career
pathways, and exploring diverse individual perspectives.

About the webinars:

What do the carbon cycle, ocean technologies, aerosols, coastal pollutants
and climate change models have in common? You can learn about all of them
from world-class researchers -- and get customizable versions of these
scientists' interactive concept maps -- from the comfort of your living
room! Free and easy to attend, ROLE Model webinars offer direct access to
scientists as well as take-home resources that can be used immediately. All
you'll need in order to participate are a telephone and an Internet

Webinars are held every other Wednesday at 7PM ET/4PM PT. Registering allows
you to contribute your own questions for scientists to answer during the