International Polar Year, or IPY (2007-2009) is by far the most exciting international scientific and educational opportunity of this century. For the next two years, all eyes will be focused on the physical, social and human dimensions of our planet's polar regions. Watch this blog for news related to Canadian outreach and education efforts related to IPY. Of particular interest to educators! Note: This blog is created independently of any official IPY organization

Wednesday, August 5, 2009

Upcoming Live from IPY! event with Mike Rhinard and the High Arctic Change '09 Expedition in Svalbard, Norway!

Contact: --------------------------------------- DATE: 10 August 2009 TIME: 12:00 noon ADT (10 am HST, 1 pm PDT, 2 pm MDT, 3 pm CDT, 4 pm EDT) What are Live from IPY events? * These are real-time, interactive events that utilize the Internet and phone for presentations. * These events allow participants to learn about the research being conducted in the field first-hand from the researchers and teachers while they are in a remote Arctic location. * Events are free to the public and at minimum require a phone or Internet access. How do you join an event? In order to participate in any Live from IPY event, we ask that you register online at . Instructions on how to join these events are sent out in an email once you register and are available for downloading on the website. Arctic summers are busy! Join teachers out on expeditions in the Arctic through the PolarTREC (Teachers & Researchers Exploring & Collaborating) .

No comments: