International Polar Year, or IPY (2007-2009) is by far the most exciting international scientific and educational opportunity of this century. For the next two years, all eyes will be focused on the physical, social and human dimensions of our planet's polar regions. Watch this blog for news related to Canadian outreach and education efforts related to IPY. Of particular interest to educators! Note: This blog is created independently of any official IPY organization

Thursday, August 6, 2009

Live from IPY! event with PolarTREC 13 August 2009

Participate in a Live from IPY! event with PolarTREC teacher Tom Harten and the Bering Seabird Ecology PolarTREC Expedition in the Pribilof Islands, of the coast of Alaska, in the Bering Sea. DATE: 13 August 2009 TIME: 3:30 pm Alaska Daylight Time (1:30 pm HST, 4:30 pm PDT, 5:30 pm MDT, 6:30 pm CDT, 7:30 pm EDT) How do you join an event? In order to participate in any Live from IPY event, we ask that you register online at . Instructions on how to join these events are sent out in an email once you register and are available for downloading on the website. Contact: --------------------------------------- What are Live from IPY events? * These are real-time, interactive events that utilize the Internet and phone for presentations. * These events allow participants to learn about the research being conducted in the field first-hand from the researchers and teachers while they are in a remote Arctic location. * Events are free to the public and at minimum require a phone or Internet access. Questions? Please feel free to contact Kristin Timm with questions about the live events.

No comments: